Muni Expectations

Does anyone know of any riders 275lbs+ that are capable of holding their own out on the trail? I’m relatively new to unicycling, but I’ve always enjoyed team sports. While I don’t expect to be competitive, I would like to know that a sufficient level of skill is obtainable that would enable me to challenge other local riders (or at least not hold them back).

I’ve spent the past 20 years powerlifting and playing football, so serious distance riding is not in the foreseeable future. While I think I would enjoy the challenge, my fragile ego couldn’t handle the transition:(. So far, I find muni to be a good compliment to my existing skill set; however, I expect that smaller, leaner guys probably excel off-road. For those of you who have been doing this for awhile, would you say that this is true?

Interesting question.

The unicycle is constantly in a state of falling, with the rider making a correction. Using the physics of f=m*a (force equals mass times acceleration), that’d suggest to me that, making a correction of balance for a heavy person is going to take more force. If you’re strong, however, you should be able to apply greater force.

Traction is another issue: it seems that a heavier person would drive the tire into the ground more, getting more traction; but then again, you need more traction to pull more weight up a hill.

Braking: I don’t know what the hills look like in your neighborhood, but if you’re bigger, that might put more stress on your knees holding back while going down hills, so I’d suggest a brake.

Rolling over obstacles: if you ride with a sufficiently big wheel, and you can keep your large mass coupled with the unicycle (weight on the pedals and a hand firmly on the seat or even better on some rigid bar), and if you are moving at a decent speed, than you should be able to roll over ANYTHING (cue heavy metal music).