Muni Climbing Techniques

So I’ve been practicing climbing with the muni lately and I was wondering wat kind of techniques are used to overcome obstacles during the climb (for example roots, holes, etc).

So far I’ve tried various techniques:

• leaning backwards and rolling over it (root)
  • hopping sideways onto or over the obstacle
  • giving up :stuck_out_tongue:

So what do the skilled riders use for technique? @Becky98 ? :sunglasses:

I typically stand up on the pedals when hill climbing. If that doesn’t work I hold the saddle with one or both hands and pedal in a non-circular motion where my feet actually touch the ground.

1 Like

Climbing over rough ground is really hard. I am not that good at it, so take my advice with a grain of salt…

Over time I have gotten better at the short still stand. I use that pause between half revs to change my direction as needed to go around things. I try very hard to go around instead of over in order to keep as much forward momentum as possible.

I find riding over things is not always easy because the cranks are not always in the right position. If i hit a big root with the cranks at 6-12 and not enough momentum, I usually need a corrective hop to fix the crank position or else I pick option #3. Hopping takes a lot of energy, and it’s hard to get going again afterwards, so I only do that as a last resort.

Hopping is a very inefficient energywise, but when you lack the speed and it’s to steep and you don’t want to dismount often the only way (even I do sometimes🙈, but mostly I see all climbs as a fun challenge).

My favorite technique is to pull on the handle when the obstacle comes. I don’t do a jump while using that technique (since pedal position isn’t perfect and I am not great in rolling hops).
Here is a good example on one of my favorite uphill lines starting at Second 47:

4 Likes

Hey Becky which model are the race face knee/shin guards are you wearing and have you been happy with them?