Mud and Bearings

Hey, guys.

Long time lurker, first time poster <roll eyes>

So I went riding in the mud today, and while I had a blast, now my bearings make a crunching sound when I turn them. Is that bad? :s Anyway, I know nothing about bearings, and was wondering:

Can they be dissasembled and cleaned, or should I get new ones, or should I just keep riding on them?

Does this mean I don’t have “sealed” bearings?

Should I get sealed bearings for mud/snow/otherwise-wet-and-dirty riding?

How do I know what size to get (I have a Suzue hub and Yuni frame)?

Thanks!

Andy

See you in Moab :smiley:

Re: Mud and Bearings

Hi Andy,

I’m no bearing expert either, but you might check out this thread:
http://www.unicyclist.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=26378&highlight=dirty+bearings

Hope you get things dried out and cleaned up by Moab. Look forward to meeting you there…

TB

Tom gave you a link to a thread that will tell you more than you want to know about replacing bearings.

Replacement bearings are $6 each for your uni at unicycle.com.
Kovachi 40-mm Sealed Bearing
For a unicycle that is used outdoors get the rubber sealed bearings. For a freestyle unicycle that is used indoors get the metal sealed bearings. The metal sealed bearings should have less friction (and less rolling resistance), but the metal seal is more prone to getting dented or damaged. Thus the metal sealed bearings are not a good choice for a muni.

All unicycles come with sealed bearings (well, except for the very first batch of Cokers) so you’ve got sealed bearings on your muni. But sealed bearings don’t seal completely. If the bearings sealed completely they would have so much friction that no one would want to use them on a unicycle. The seal is just a simple barrier. Dirt and water can easily work their way inside a sealed bearing.