Mounting

I am just learning how to ride. I am very shaky when riding foward, and can only go a few feet. Anyone have any ideas on how I should learn to mount and then ride? Or any ideas on how I should get better on my riding skills?

practice. sorry, thats probably not what you wanted to hear, but thats really the only advice for someone in your position (and it is a very common position.)

Haha, between juggling and uni-ing I hear “practice” enough to figure out that is what i have to do…

The hardest part after mounting is getting those first 2-3 revolutions in after that it goes pretty smooth… Assumming you can even ride:P.

Yeah, i mean i can only ride 4 revolutions tops, so I should just practice riding for now.

I found that having a person there and holding on to their shoulder or hand just helped with stability ever so slightly and when i felt comfortable i would let go and see how far i could ride. Eventually I didnt need the support to help me. :slight_smile:

This is great advice. Find either a person or an object you are comfortable with that is a little above waist height when you are on the uni (for me, you may want something higher or lower) and ride along with support. Work on relying on the support less and less, and when you think you are ready, try it by yourself. I learned on a 20 yard dumptser.

you could also try riding along with a shopping trolley out the front of you, i’m not sure how successful it is, but it would be interesting

Haha, I can just picture that now!

Having just taught my son how to mount, I think what did it for him was to keep trying to get him to use his foot on the ground to push himself up more than using your pedal foot to try to put the uni under you. The less that wheel moves backwards, the easier it’s going to be to get it to go forward. :wink:

Other than that, it’s just a matter of falling off enough to figure it out.