Mounting on Rocks

I just started riding more on rocks and was wondering if there were any good tips on mounting on them. My current problem is that I mount 1/2 a pedal stroke from my hopping position, sometimes thats enough to be off the rock entirely though. I know the simple answer is mount, and do a quick pedal rotation in the air on a hop, but I’m not solid with that.

Also any tips on handeling the slopes of a rock, are there areas I should look for with tire placement, currently I try to hit the peaks and just hope my tire doesnt slip.

Thanks guys

Chex

I had the same problem. I had to teach myself to mount with my other foot, so I could mount right into a hop. Sometimes things are still too small to mount on, so I learned how to pedal grab.

Mojoe

I had this problem, and i think the solution is a static with the pedals completely horizontal. That way you dont roll at all, and you just have to hop. This may take some practice to learn, because you can put very little weight on thr back pedal.
Good Luck
Scott

Jump mount to hop.

Re: Mounting on Rocks

That is odd. I mount with my right foot on the pedal and I hop with my right foot back. My mount puts me right into my hopping pedal position. For muni you really need to be able to mount directly into your hopping position. Start practicing mounting with the other foot and hope that you can get comfortable enough with the other foot to be able to do it on the trail.

When I mount the muni on the trail I often do a little hop as soon as I get on just to get myself situated on the saddle and because it’s a little bit of a habit that I’ve developed.

I’m with John on this one, I mount the exact same way in every aspect as he has described. We’re probably twins.

Dylan