MountainUni brake discussion

To all disk brakers

Do you have a MtnUni disk brake system, or some other type of disk-brake?
Which of your uni(s) have MtnUni Disks?

I’ve used a MountainUni disk brake with UCM (Unicycle Caliper Mount) all spring and summer, first on my KH29g, then on the KH24. MountainUni’s UCM, in combo with the spider-crank mounted disk is an ingenious and simple way to rig up a disk brake on a uni. I’m not advertising for MountainUni, I will say they have nice products and impeccable customer service. I truly love the system, and I’ll probably put it on my Coker, next.

I’m not an expert “braker” on a uni. On pavement I’m alright, but on steep, uneven terrain, applying the brake often finds me UPDing in the near future. Bearing that in mind, here are a couple thoughts I have about this system…

• I’d like to have more ability to modulate the hydraulic brake - it’s VERY sensitive, with only a tiny bit of “squeeze” distance. Any slight waver on the squeezing hand, caused by bumpy trails, or whatever, can be disastrous.

• I’ve bent two of the rotor-disks since I switched it to the KH24. First time, I failed to clear a rock-pile, and the uni fell, rotor-side-down, on rocks, bent. Second time the uni and I both fell trying to clear a log-stack, and the disk hit a log, bent. Since the pads of a disk brake are no more than a couple mm apart, it doesn’t take much of a bend to make riding impossible.

Again, I’m no expert, just that I fall too much doing hard muni to prevent this drop-n-bend behavior. I think MountainUni system is the best aftermarket brake set up available for unicycles, but, for me, the outboard disk set up is not great for technical muni.

Thoughts?