Morning Riding

I had a dumb idea the other day, rather than doing a night-ride, get up a bit early and do an early morning ride. Now stupid idiot I am, I posted this up on the Emunicyclists list, expecting everyone to tell me not to be so stupid so I could get my lie in. Inevitably some idiot said okay and I ended up getting up at the crack of dawn to go riding.(Given I’m a lazy student, this didn’t mean super early, we had an 8.30 start). I was a bit hungover thanks to going to a chocolate and wine tasting the night before, but made it there on time, and we headed up the hill. Mmmm, the trails were mostly empty, solid as a very solid thing thanks to being frozen up and looked really beautiful. There were leaves on the ground, making it kind of like night riding, because we couldn’t see what we were riding over at all. We pootled off up Bramcote Hill and Hemlock Stone, pausing only for me to throw myself off on my front on a leaf covered uphill that was disguising the only patch of unfrozen mud in Nottinghamshire, and to fall right on my arse coming down Bramcote Hill a second time, then headed across the hills to the deer park and into university. What a cool way to start the day.

Pictures here at the bottom of the album.

Joe

Wow. Them’s some purty picatures.

Looks nice Joe, maybe I’ll try and head out early this weekend
I’ve been loving the cold clear mornings on my way into work this week, but my commute is considerably less pretty!

Paul

Who would agree to such a daft idea? Oh, wait…

Very good ride. Must do it again sometime, even if that is like committing to getting up early in advance.

John

Early morning winter rides can be fun. For a few years when we lived in Reading I would meet up with Roger shortly after Christmas for an early morning ride to burn off the Christmas pud before I went to work and he drove back up north.
Sarah