Misshapen Muni Tire

I have been building a new muni slowly for several months now.
I noticed after putting on the Arrow 26 x 3.0 tire (also branded duro) that the tread seemed to be offset to one side or the other at certain intervals around the tire.

The tire was actually pretty misshapen right out of the box.

Could this be simply a bent bead or could it be something that can be fixed by a shot of extra air pressure, or maybe riding on it a bunch?

Note: The little rubber lip that runs around the sidewall, at certain spots on the wheel, is sitting nicely on the edge of the rim, but at others is tucked under. I can’t seem to adjust it to fit.

Try deflating the tire most of the way, and manually pulling the bead so it engages better with the rim all the way around the tire.

Thanks- just tried this and it seems to help slightly, but no matter where I am able to get the lip on the edge, it seems to slip under on the opposite side.

At the shop I used to work at we had a tool for seating clincher tires. It looked like a set of channel lock pliers with wide curved jaws. Occasionally we would have a balloon tire that wouldn’t seat correctly, and this tool could be used to manually seat the tire with moderate air pressure in it. It might be just what you need, and it could be that your LBS has the tool. If not, you might be able to make something that does a similar job.

I’ve had tyres not seat right like this, and they fixed themselves by me putting in a fair bit of air (probably like 30-40 PSI in a muni tyre), and repeatedly dropping the wheel, rotating it a little, dropping it again, until it sorted itself out.

I’ve only ever had the problem with kevlar bead tyres though, I dunno if it’ll work with wire bead.

Joe

Which Arrow is it?

The 24X3 Arrow Wide Bite is not the same as the Duro & I don’t think they make more than one 24/26X3" tire, so I doubt your 26X3 Arrow isn’t the same as a Duro.