Mama said there would be days like this...

Today was an “off” day. Almost nothing was working right and on the verge of a bad fall. I’m new to this sport (3 months) and do fine on my 20". Trying to spread my wings and ride larger wheels. I had been doing ok on a 26" I’ve borrowed for a couple of weeks.
Today the computer just was off and the more I fought it the more it got worse. I’m not giving up in anyway but just looking for support from you all.
Thanks

I feel your pain when I am practicing wheel walking. For all the time I’ve put into it, I haven’t progressed that far.

I am interested in, specifically, what your struggles are…moving from the 20" to the larger wheel. Compared to a 20", larger wheels can be less responsive (especially if the wheel / crank ratio is less), and they can tire you out while learning to mount. If you’re getting frustrated on the larger wheel, I suggest taking a break from it, then broadening your technique on the 20" (practicing new mounts, idling, etc.). This might address some of the difficulties of the larger wheel, when you return to it.

The 26 has 165 cranks which seem long to me. I’m only 5’9". Most my problem is in the getting going part. I still don’t freemount either 20 or 26 but need to work on that shaky starting to pedal part.

1. The same with others tricks… I have been now unicycling around 4 years (maybe more) and I am still far from mastering many tricks/diferent wheels properly… Practice and pantience is my advice… :wink:

We all have on and off days, I personally have found that a lot of it comes down to confidence. When a session starts badly, it can spiral downhill, and it’s sometimes better to just let it be. On the other side, sometimes you’ll have days where everything just works, and you get on a positive loop.