Let's here it from the "old" folks!

I’m curious as to the ages and numbers of “old” folks still actively riding a uni. I just started up riding again this year at age 47 after taking a 30+ year break from riding. I’m loving it!

I was looking at the results from NAUCC and noticed that last age group was “over 40”. How about a few responses from the over 40 gang (you know, the older and wiser uni riders :sunglasses: ). I’m especially interested in who is the oldest rider.

While we’re at it, how long have you been riding?

Bill

Well I am not exactly over 40, but I am a knocking on the door. I started riding at 36 and turned 37 after riding for a couple of months. I learned how to suicide mount just a couple of days ago. (Kind of an off the wall comment I realize, but I am pretty pleased with myself.:smiley: )

I Started to learn to uni in Feb '03, just a couple of months before I hit the BIG 50 :smiley:

GO GEEZERS!

I’m 43. Learned at age 16. Rode extensively thru college then frequently ever since. For most those years I rode very well forwards, OK backwards, very good idle, could go down steps diagonally and that was about it.

Then a couple years ago I got back into very regular riding when my eldest finally decided to take it up. Now I’m level 4 and 2003 NAUCC Trials over 40 Champeen (beginner :D).

I think if you study the NAUCC 2003 stats you will find many of the 50+ put us 40+ to shame.

I’m 56. Originally learned to uni at 45…rode for a couple of years (only forward, nothing fancy), then put it down until 54, when I discovered this group and got reenergized. Now I’ve learned a bunch of new skills and keep working on more! I MUni every week (the dark side hooked me), and play around with trials to the extent my knees let me. Addiction? Quite possibly. :smiley:

Ride on,

Jerry

I’m 51. I began riding when I was 11 and rode annually but not passionately until about three years ago.