Learner: uni size and seat type

Hello all you smart people!

I am just learning how to ride and I wonder if anyone can answer a couple of questions. I have been learning on my cheap 20" uni and sharing with a friend. He just got his own uni, a 26" Torker LX. I thought he might have trouble adjusting to the larger wheel, since he was only at the point of going about 20ft or so before that, but he did just fine. This weekend he learned to ride from one corner of the tennis court to the opposite corner.

I’m a bit behind him, but I do want to get a 24" uni since the 20" is just so small. Originally, I was going to wait until I finished learning, but it is taking longer than I thought, and my friend did so well with his Torker, I’m wondering, should I get one now and continue learning on it? He thought it was easier on the larger wheel. Maybe because he is over 6’ tall (I’m only 5’7’). I can’t ride his, because it is too high (unless he cuts the seat post).

The other problem I have is that I sat on his uni and I thought the seat was very uncomfortable. Mine is also uncomfortable, but his is even worse to me. He likes his better, but he will probably get some kind of upgrade (who knows when). I told him about the air seat kit he can get and he might get it. I don’t know if I want one of those or not. I wouldn’t want to try the assembly myself, but he could probably do it for me. Are they really the best? Or is there another reasonably good seat upgrade I can get?

I started riding along a wall

Find a nice neighborhood with little traffic if you can. I wouldn’t consider buying a new uni or seat until you can ride 1/2 mile or so. That much experience will help steel your imagination about where you want to go next. Arranging stuff on the seat, and other comfort issues will rapidly get better by themselves. I think you are doing fine, and need to have more fun exploring riding around your area.:slight_smile:

I like the tennis court