Killer Abs?

I’m probably going to order a unicycle in time for spring, but I am still at that stage where I am trying to convince myself that I really will do this.

Anyway, after considering the mechanics of riding (but without actually trying it, after all, why screw up theory with something as base as reality?); it has occurred to me that the balance for riding a unicycle probably originates in the mid-section.

So, my questions is, will riding a unicycle give me killer abs?

Elaine
Norman, OK

Re: Killer Abs?

>So, my questions is, will riding a unicycle give me killer abs?

definately…

I doubt it

Elaine,

I started riding again in September; by December I had lost 8 inches off my waist. Of coarse, it becomes a dependancey- I broke my wheel and gained a good bit in the 3 weeks it was out of commission- then pulled my poor under developed pectoral muscles hopping. Every day I don’t ride I inflate like a tick. I guess it’s just the price you pay for ABS of STEAL. (Really, though- if you agment your riding with crunches and leg lifts, you’ll be better off as a rider and much improved in the stomach.)

Christopher

Killer abs… I don’t think so. Although, you’ll probably get killer legs.

Sorry, not gonna happen, but if it will get you on a uni keep telling yourself it will. It will probably work out everything but the abs.
-David Kaplan

In article <Elaine.m27y@timelimit.unicyclist.com>,
Elaine <Elaine.m27y@timelimit.unicyclist.com> wrote:
)
)So, my questions is, will riding a unicycle give me killer abs?

I definitely noticed muscle development in my abs when I first started
riding. When you first start, you do a lot of wobbling and are constantly
overcorrecting in both directions. (I think this was especially true
for me–some people do better).

Unfortunately for your abs, once you get comfortable on the uni, you
will no longer twist nearly as much, and your abs won’t get much of
a workout. These days I’m smooth enough that I’m basically not working