kh29 question

I’m new to unicycling. Caught the bug a few months ago, I LOVE it. I can ride o.k. around town, I can static mount pretty good most of the time.

I learned on a torker lx 24 with a bent frame which is headed to the trash can, I bought an Onza 20 for learning trials, but also want to get a 26 or 29 for muni. I was looking at the KH29 (since I can’t really find a comparable 26, please advise if you have an opinion about this) and noticed it says “not suitable for beginners” on the unicycle.com website. I consider myself a beginner, but imagine in another couple of months I’ll be something more.

Shall I pull the trigger on the kh29? Or is there anything else out there that would suit me better for a couple of years.

A.

Go for the 29er, I got one when relatively inexperienced and soon got used to it. For just riding around, once you’re up it not that much different, just faster, which is what I wanted.

For getting on, a bit of practice and you’ll soon be OK. I still occasionally use props to get on when I’m tired and wobbly-legged, it doesn’t matter.

Andy

29er

You will love it.

Carey

I think what they mean is that it’s not a good size for learning to ride on. If you can already ride and freemount you’ll be fine. It’ll be a bit different to mount, but you’ll get used to it. The higher top speed will be something to look out for; it’s possible to go fast enough to hurt yourself if you fall off (i.e. faster than you can easily run out of), so bear that in mind and don’t go faster than you feel in control (and wear protective kit).

Rob

I’ve already decked myself out in protective gear after my first set of scars on my shins.

Thanks for the info! I am going to get it!

A.

And you might give the aebike website a look before purchasing–I got mine there for a hair over $450 shipped a couple weeks ago. aebike.com

I learned on an LX24 and quickly bought the KH29. No regrets. It’s a fantastic machine.