just started today need advice for dx

ok im looking at getting a dx and im like 5’8 so would it be better for me to get a 20in or 24in whats the difference im still really new to uni i just started today at my friends house and i love any advice would be greatly apreciated thnx

Just depends what yo want to do. A 20" is mainly for street and trials and a 24" is mainly for muni but people do trials and street on 24s but not often there reall big and stuff.

How old are you? What type of riding are you planning on doing for the most part (trials, muni, freestyle, distance)? If you like trials (hopping onto stuff) or freestyle (artistic, sort of like figure skating), your best bet would be a 20". If you want to do MUni, something bigger than a 24" would be ideal. And for distance a 29er or a Coker (36") is the best bet.

I’m 6’5" and I ride a 20" most of the time.

The extra 4" between a 20" and a 24" gives you about another foot of distance covered with each rotation of the wheel. Bigger wheel = faster & harder to slow down, shorter cranks = faster (smaller pedal strokes) & less maneuverable.

I would personally start with a 24". It may be a little bit harder to ride, but is a good size for doing a little bit of everything. My first uni was a 24 and I learned basic trials and street on it, did some MUni (mountain uni), and even some distance.

I would personally pick the 20" unless you are doing muni WAY WAY WAY more than anything else. 20" unis are lighter, more maneverable, and just so much better, if you are just learning, you DO NOT need a DX, if you get really into it later, breaking the learner is a good excuse to go for a DX, a lot of people that are getting KHs don’t need them, the DX is superduper strong … even for an above average rider.