Just saying HI!

Hello all,

First post here so I figured I’d just say HI and introduce myself. I’m a 52 year old total beginner. About a year ago I bought a OneWheel electric skateboard type device which I have ridden every single day since I bought it. It’s a ton of fun but I was looking for a little more challenge so I bought an EUC. That was definitely trickier than the OneWheel but I was still cruising around town within a few hours. So, I decided to try something even more challenging and bought a unicycle. That was about a month ago and it has proven to be the most challenging thing I can ever remember trying to learn. I had read a bunch about how it just “clicks” and I fully expected that to happen for me. No such luck. My progress has been steady but very slow. I practice 30-45 min a day most days and at this point can ride a few hundred feet but cant seem to relax and sit so my legs get sore super fast. As soon as I start thinking about my sore legs and “now what” I panic and bail. Its amazing how scary being 6" off the ground can be.

I’ve had a ton of questions but have found answers to just about all of them using the search bar. This site is a great resource. Thanks for all the info and advice. I’ll check back with updates occasionally as I progress.

Chris P.

Good on you!
You’ll probably be all good soon, just keep riding! :slight_smile:

Welcome Chris. Always good to try a new challenge!

Well done!! Looks like you are doing better than the average starter, especially for the age group (I started same age). I doubt you’ll feel an “clicks” (other than knees) just a slow progression as the brain and body do it for you without conscious effort. Keep it up and don’t let and set backs slow you down.

If you can ride a few hundred feet you can ride and you are already way past the “it clicks” stage.
The leg fatigue will disappear over time.