just learning to unicycle

i just started learning to unicycle. i would love some tips on some
sort of way of practicing. so far all i do is pick a point on my
street and attempt to get that far. also are there any good exercises
that help with strength traing geared towards unicyclists? and does
anyone know of a balancing exercise i can do indoors without the
unicycle? and lastly is there a type of unicycle seat that wont leave
me feeling like i’ll never father children?

Go to the search function and type in “tips for beginners”. It’ll pull up a lot of threads with a lot of info.

What I did to learn was I had this deck. And it was about arm level for me (instead of a deck you could use a rail) but I rode holding onto the deck for a while applying a lot of pressure. Once I got better I lowered the pressure in segments until finally, I was riding. That took me about 5-6 hours and then within an hour I learned freemounting and was riding away.

Another useful tip for learning is riding on a sloped angle (downwards of course), which is how my friend said he learned.

Hope this helped.

Well, i did the opposite, i found it easier to just go balls out and try and ride, and i learnt easier on a slight uphill slope.
I also used the search function to find out that its personal preference, what works for one wont work for everyone.
Go with what you feel comfortable with.
J

Your seek a target and go for it technique is a good one. Remember a few things when you practice:

1.) ALWAYS keep your weight on the seat. You will tend to try to stand on the pedals to make corrections. ALWAYS settle back into the saddle after making a correction.

2.) Look into the distance. Looking down at the tire tends to make you fall forward. Pick a target like you have been and focus on that.

3.) Pedal with smooth, round strokes and maintain good posture. Learning to ride in a jerky manner hunched over won’t help you later on.