Just a quick question re hopping

Hi,
I’ve just learnt to bunny hop on my 20" and tried it today on my 24". But I couldn’t do it - the uni seemed too heavy. Is this right d’u think? Or have I just not ‘got’ it yet? And does this mean that if I wanted to go leaping about on mountains, I would need a 20", or doesn’t it work like that?
Cathy

Keep trying, unless you have a uni made of lead. :smiley:

no, just together me & the uni are pretty heavy.
Cathy

Don’t get discouraged, just keep practicing, and give it time.:slight_smile:

I’m just learning how to hop too…I’m trying it on an old 24" Schwinn that I have hopes of destroying in order to get a nicer Muni. Could it be that your seat is in a higher position in relation to your cranks on your 24? Seems to me that I need to have the seat lower than I normally ride in order to have a hope of some hopping…just a thought.

–unidaddy

Practice.

Kris Holm(and lots others,of course)namely,does insane trials hopping on a 24",Its generally pretty easy.I think theres old videos of him doing trials on a 26".

I learned how to hop on a 24",it wasnt until a year later that i got a 20" uni,and i personally dont think that weight matters unless your pushing yourself to the limit,then a lighter uni would help you to be able to “refine” the hop and get that last 2 extra inches in,or whatever.

As for learning to hop,get better and more efficent at hoppping the 20",then you’ll be more efficent at the 24".

I can jump my coker. You should be able to jump a 24.

As some have mentioned, Kris Holm does great on the 24". I myself reached around 30" on my 15-16lb 24, which is plenty for the vast majority of things found in and around trails. Just practice on the 24 and you’ll get better, and even better, it’ll improve your skills on the 20" as well.

my freaking biceps are all sore from practice hopping my 24" nimbus muni… sucker is heavy :slight_smile: good thing it’s not a 26…