Jumping higher

Hey people of the internets.

I am having abit of trouble regarding trials unicyling I have been at it since christmas on and off but I am struggling with hopping. I have able to jump 35cm on my unicycle for 2 weeks and I have no idea how I’m go ing to get any higher then that if anyboy has any tips I would be very grateful.

Danke - Moth

start stackin crap higher. if your 35cm is consistent, bring that up to 38cm and give it a a shot. then just keep increasing like that as each height gets consistent

are you doing it SI or SIF?

Sif

I can to 60 something SI I got to tuck. try to hop and practice tucking and like DSchmit said stack some suff up

I’ve been riding for about 4 months now and still can’t seem to jump up anything of significance.
I can hop just fine in place, but as soon as I say “I want to jump up that” it’s suddenly a problem.

Basically the only things I can jump onto are things I might as well just ride up onto (a few cm, no more)
Any specific tips (i.e. weight distribution… I don’t know… something else?) for hopping? (Mostly SI because I want to be able to do it during everyday riding)

Me too, I always thought my crappy jumping was because I am a fat blob. But maybe my jump height deficit is because I don’t have the proper technique …and I am a fat blob.

no. I am pusing 220 pounds right now and can go high enough for my liking

Hope springs eternal!

Jumping on a uni is difficult to get a hang of. You have to learn the weight distribution of the pedals to perfection. Locking your legs is not the way to get any height. You need to jump with your leg muscles fairly loose, until you actually jump. I could write a few pages on technique.

My biggest tips are:

loosen up those muscles. They won’t be able to generate any power if they are contracted. I still remind myself of this when I tense up.