Is This Normal???

I bought a KH20 at the start of the summer…no tricks yet.

Yesterday i was doing some maintence check. I spun the wheel and put my finger between the wheel and the frame. At certain points the wheel hits my finger. I think this must have been the case when new as ive never dropped it and no trials yet. Am i right in thinking that the wheel is off centre?? If so is this normal or can it be easily fixed.

Thanks
Camrocl

You likely just need to adjust some spokes in order to bring the wheel back into true. The wheel may have been that way from the factory however most new wheels will run out of true after some use as the spoke tension may change (i.e. a bit of a break in period)

If your not comfortable adjusting spokes then hopfully you have a bike shop near that can do it for you.

And yes it is normal and should be easy to fix.

As well, welcome to the forums

Thanks for your reply
Although ive been unicycling for almost 2 years (i never botherd to lean freemount idles, etc till recently when i bought my kh20 and a nimbus performer giraffe 5-7ft) i have no idea on maintence. I have a number of bike shops about 10 mile from where i live so yipee.

Any idea how much this would cost in an average bike shop??

Depends on the bike shop, but it would probably cost about 10 or 20 dollars to get it trued.

If you want to try it yourself (which I recommend, it’s not as hard as it sounds and it’s a useful skill) then this is a good place to read about wheels. You can probably skip down to the section on tensioning and trueing, but the rest is useful information too.

Am i right in saying i need a special tool? sorry to be stupid :slight_smile:

It’s quite obvious that you’re touching the unicycle in it’s “no-no zone” and it’s angry at you for doing so. Be glad it’s only the wheel hitting your finger.

When the pedals get angry, things get bloody.