Introduction of New Rider - Trouble Starting

Hi Everyone,

First off, is anyone else in Vegas? I’m looking to just try a 20" to see if I am any less apprehensive when getting on it. I am currently on a 26" that I just bought one week ago. Although some say it does not matter, many people on the net and here claim that I should have started on a 20" rather than a 26".

Some quick details: I have never tried a uni before. I am male, 40 y/o, almost 5’11, but I have short legs (inseam around 30-31 inches). I am also obese at 250 pounds, so I was looking to learning unicycling to lose weight. I was on the mountain bike team in college 20 years ago. The past three years, I have been quite inactive, and I am looking to change that bad habit now. I bought a new Nimbus 26" regular (not MUni) unicycle, along with all the pads and helmet. I already switched out my Nimbus seat for the Kris Holm Street Saddle because the Nimbus one was really rough on my groin area at least at this stage.

Yes, just began a week ago, but I have already somehow fallen off it a few times with some scrapes and twice falling backward; landed on my pelvis, which still hurts five hours later. I cannot remember how I fell the first time, but it is probably similar to this time. I was just trying to dismount forward. I put pressure on my right foot at the 6 o’clock position. Instead of pushing back with my foot and stepping forward off of it, the unicycle shot forward rather forcefully and I landed on my fat rear, and it is still quite painful (I am sure I am fine though). From what I have since read here, I made the mistake of putting too much force on the pedal while trying to dismount.