Improve my guni

I own a huni-rex 26" guni since February (I’m still learning how to turn and to freemount :o). I added V-brakes, homemade handlebar and 3.8 road tire (using a 4.00-4.5 tube)… I cannot start unicycling with ease: it needs a lot of torque start rolling and than it goes softer and smoother. Already upgraded shoes to 5.10, but it’s still hard. I need advices: I’m thinking about removing weight but how? Removing handlebar?

With the gearing ratio 1:1.5 you should be able to start with rolling mount easily. The weight of unicycle does not matter significantly IMHO.

Practice roll mounts and if it is still difficult consider shorter cranks, as these provide more smooth ride.

The weight of the handle, frame, seat ect. don’t matter all that much, but the wight of the wheel and other rotating components does. The effects of weight on the wheel is compounded when geared up.

You could try a smaller lighter tire (probably not what you want to hear after putting in the time and expense of setting it up with a fat tire). A light wheel will require much less torque to get moving and be more responsive to corrections, but will also be less stable, and more sensitive to surface irregularities. It’s not always easy to find a happy medium.

I have found a handlebar to be a near necessity for comfortable geared riding, so it would not be high on my list of things to remove.

Adding longer cranks will give you more torque. What length are your cranks ?

Just remembered how low the crank axles are. This will limit the use of long cranks due to possible pedal strike

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQyDLtOX2J5CRjwNT8TcdSilsp11KKWNiuFYo3P4i_TXkIFWIX5

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTtSFFzfeh70xeTCovNBvxcf14fdfMFbthP3SK25jrt27-lNo_M

Especially when turning

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTZGh_VMzfOddUAueNPe_Xy9duCnaaalBIsx75T-33NE4ATZWr2tw :astonished: