I'm a newbie... any tips?

Hello all! After 15+ years of wanting a Uni, I was given one this Christmas as a gift. I’ve always said, “I have to learn to ride a unicycle before I die!”

I’m anxious to begin learning. There’s more than a foot of snow outside, but I’ve been pedaling forward and backward in my basement. I can’t wait until spring!

Any tips on lowering the learning curve, and helping a guy learn faster? One website I visited said it takes between 10-15 hours to learn (roughly 2 weeks of practicing one hour each day); that’s good news, but I’d still like to learn quicker. Any secret tips? What worked for all of you?

Another thing… my Uni came with training wheels! Seriously, there’s a curved bar sticking out of the back, attached to two small training wheels. Do you think the use of training wheels will help or hinder my progress? I’ve never been sure of their effectiveness when teaching children to ride bicycles, so I’m wondering about their effectiveness with unicycles.

Nice to be here! Ride on!
Mark D

Great christams present. welcome to the fold.

I never seen anyone learn using training wheels and I doubt it would help.

There aren’t really any secrets. It just takes practice. You pedal, fall off, pedal, fall off, and so on. Hopefully over a few hours you will get better and better until eventually you get the feeling that you are almost riding it.

Riding in snow is much harder although the landings are softer :wink: If you can find a nice smooth, flat area it will help progress. Try to ride away from a wall or support rather than along it. The more you are willing to ‘let go’ and go for it the quicker you will learn.

Good Luck

nick

Tip:

Learn without leaning/holding a wall

Downside: you can’t ride a unicycle until you can mount it
Upside: after the initial period (finding the balance point)