I'd like to know about cranks.

I don’t know why but the 152 cranks that came on the 24" seem just a tad too long for me. Maybe it’s because I’m short (5’2") and my legs feel like they’re making a huge revolution or is this just because I’m a novice and I should stick with the 152’s. Although the 24 is a fairly rugged beast she won’t be doing any real MUni.

I’ve just found this information on http://www.firetoys.co.uk/ which obviously is not a dedicated uni site so I’m wondering what y’all think about the crank information they give.

[I]“In practice:
16” unicycles can only be fitted with 102mm cranks or shorter or the cranks touch the ground when pedalling.

20" unicycles; 102 cranks give a smooth fast ride but make idling harder, 127 cranks give more torque and are good for learners and tricks, 152 are too long

24" unicycles; 102 cranks are very smooth and should only be considered if you are a speed fiend, 127 cranks are smooth and still quite fast, although are ok for idling, 152 cranks are great for learners.

26" & 29" unicycles; 102 cranks make a great long distance machine but very hard to idle, 127 cranks are smooth and make a good street machine, 152 cranks are great for standard Muni riding and tricks work, 170 are for the serious trials rider or mountain climber, these give you the ability to go up almost anything!

36" unicycles; 127 cranks create an extremely fast machine and gives some control for the experienced rider to idle. 152 cranks are standard and should be considered the minimum for all but experienced riders."[/I]

Discuss :smiley:

Crank length comes up pretty frequently around here so there is a lot of info in existing threads. The biggest factors tend to be wheel size and terrain/riding style but personal preference plays a large role (height may be part of this).