I want a faster unicycle. Maybe a 29". Should I worry about the hub fitting properly?

I bought a 20" Torker a month ago. I put twisted pedals and a KH fusion freeride saddle and post on it. I LIKE IT, BUT… I want a faster uni for longer distances. I ride on the street and I am only a beginner.

So… I was going to order a new 29" nimbus from udc but I read that they might have problems with their issis hub and bearings fitting their frame properly.
I have been enjoying this sport alot, but don’t really want to spend too much on it.

Should I worry about this? What should I do??

I think you should not worry about that probleme and buy it:p That’s what I’ll do.

I would skip the 29 and buy a 36. I started with a Torker 24 and wanted to go faster also;

so, I bought a Torker AX 29, and soon after a Coker (36). now I seldom used the 29.

Yeah this is a good idea too, 36" are much faster than 29". It’s really cool and the cyclist like them:)

I think the proberlem was with the KH ISIS 40 bearings.

I bought a UDC Nimbus 29 over a year ago. It has the regular, non-KH bearings, which fit just fine into the frame, and don’t slide around at all as long as you have the spacers on there.

I’m not sure where your interest lies in riding style, but I’ll always be riding my 29". I’ve ridden a 36" several times and really like it and plan to buy one, but there are offroad trails that are great fun on the 29" and would be awkward and difficult on a 36". If you’re interested in strictly riding distance on-road, then a 36" may be the best route to take.

I’ve had my Nimbus 29 for over a year. No problems with the bearings or otherwise.

There has only been one report of an issue like this, and it seems to be to do with using an ISIS hub (which normally has 42mm bearings) in a 40mm frame. I have not heard of any issues with regular ISIS hubs/bearings in regular 42mm frames, so I wouldn’t worry about that.