I smashed my elbow

I can’t believe this completely rotten thing has really happened to me. :frowning:

Last week I seriously smashed up my elbow while riding my 29er. I was taken to the hospital where I underwent surgery, and was required to stay for 4 nights. It was a multiple compound fracture and the surgeon explained that I may need 2 or more additional operations and perhaps years of physical therapy before before I am anywhere near “back to normal.” this is especially disturbing to me because I am an artist and for now I can not use my right hand very well, (I am slowly pecking this out with my left hand) so I dread to imagine the future consequences of all this. The surgeon told me that my elbow was like a shattered glass. It felt like it. It still does…

I wish I wore elbow pads. the irony is that I was protected by knee pads, wrist guards, and of course, a helmet. But not elbow pads. In all my unicycling adventures, when taking a fall, I always went forward and never had a problem because I was always well protected. But you know what they say—it only takes one bad fall on that ONE unprotected place.

And its not like I was doing anything remotely fancy—I was out on long island visiting my brother, and I went for a ride. I followed a road that took me down by the beach. It was a beautiful twilight, and for a moment, I stopped and sat on a park bench that faced the water. I noticed a sidewalk that ran parrellel to the beach and that went up into a small forest, so I decided to ride it. I attempted to freemount, and failed. I tried to freemount again, and I still went nowhere. On my third try, the world slipped upside down and a second later I was cradling my broken arm and bleeding all over. It was terrible. Luckily, some nice people quickly drove me to my brother’s house, who then took me to the hospital.