i need help learning how to idle!!

i don’t know y but i just cant idle i have been doing uni for a year and a half and its just one of those things i just cant do so if you have any tips any advice will help.

thank you.:smiley:

Keep your weight on the seat. Repeat it to yourself. Start out with a super idle which is one full revolution forward, one full revolution backward. Again, keep your weight on the seat. Slowly work into an idle which is a half revolution forward, a half revolution backward. Again, keep your weight on the seat. Focus into the distance rather than on the wheel. Again, keep your weight on the seat. Work on keeping your weight on the seat.

The search function should turn up several topics about idling as well as some tutorials.

Ive got a decent idle going can get about 3 half rotations in a go. Ive been riding for about 1 1/2 months close to 2. Just try riding then stopping leaning back and then doing a rotation backwards. Then quickly pedal forward again. After you got that try going backwards again but make sure you lean back. hope that helps :slight_smile:

I learned the lazy way

Watching movies. I suppose I would have learned faster if I was paying attention, but no matter. Just sit on your uni and try to idle a bit while watching stuff on the box. Make it up as you go along, I wouldn’t worry to much about technique. It takes more saddle time to learn then straight riding does. You can also try riding backwards at the same time, as the tricks are related.

Weight on the seat! Eureaka! I can idle, but I’ve alwast been limited by fatigue in my down leg. It feels like hopping on one foot for a long time. I don’t feel like I can control it with my weight on the seat but I’ll keep working on it.

This is an important observation. If you are getting fatigue in your legs where do you think your weight is?