I need a hint. plz help

I just started riding and I am looking for a little help or just a tip on learning how to turn or doing something new. Right now I can ride straight for a good distance up or down hills and can make gradual turns but nothing sharp. Is there a trick to making sharp turns.

try leaning into the curve slightly. also, until you have better control of your balance, waving your ‘inside’ (inside in relation to the turn) arm in circles (arm straight), in tune with your pedal strokes (hope this makes sense) helps, until you can do sowithout any arm movement.

One balance tip to work on…you can ride in a straight line, but can you ride in a straight line with your arms crossed behind your back?

Ride some grassy downhill, that will challenge you and it’s FUN. carjug

I just realized that I did not answer your question, I assumed that challenging riding would improve your turning. Now go ride down some grassy hills and see if your turning gets better; it will! Wheee! carjug

For sharp turns, I find this helps:

If you are turning right, time the turn so that the right pedal is just starting to go down.

If you are turning left, time the turn so that the left pedal is just starting to go down.

Slow almost to a stop, wait for the peal to be just past ‘top dead centre’, then make the sharp turn.

The turn is made with the wheel, not with the body. By this I mean that you don’t need to contort your body and wave your arms. However, you will find that it helps to turn your upper body (and especially your head) comfortably in the direction of the intended turn. Then let the unicycle turn underneath you to realign itself with your body.

And yes, you need to lean.

It’s amazing how far you can lean a unicycle. It is possible to catch the pedals on the floor if you really go for it. :smiley:

It is a bad idea to practise in one direction only. For turns, you should be able to turn each way with equal confidence.