I can't sit down.

newbie here, I’m to the point where I can ride as long as my legs allow, which is only around 20 seconds lol … i’m having a VERY difficult time putting my weight down onto the seat and taking the load off of my legs. the second I put my weight on the seat, it’s game over and I lose all balance. the result is that my legs are done after about 25 minutes of practice and I give up.

I’m on a 20" torker CX with the seat all the way up and I’m 5’8".

I need some kind of advice on how to progress. it’s discouraging how i immediately fall off (50/50 I fall forward or sideways) as soon as I try to sit correctly.

I sùppose you can try a while longer along a wall, focusing on sitting with maybe just a finger against the wall

The problem is probably tension. If you’re fit enough to ride for 20 seconds, you’re fit enough to ride for a minute or two without putting your weight fully on the saddle. The answer may be as simple as riding and riding and riding, until one day soon you suddenly realise it’s not a problem any more.

Take breaks in your practice. Try different things: a different starting point, setting off at a different angle, aiming for a definite destination, counting pedal strokes.

Keep your head up, keep your gaze on something some distance away, and don’t stick your arse (US = “ass”) out. The higher your centre of mass (US = “center” of mass) the easier it is to balance.

It will come. We’ve all been there.

Ah great idea… I feel stupid - I forgot about using a wall now that I no longer needed it (or thought that I didn’t need it!) funny thing is that I still have to start on a wall or pillar but then I immediately ride away out in the open. Thanks for the quick advice!

At what stage should i attempt to learn to free-mount? i tried a few times and fell down completely. It sure would be great to learn but I’m not sure if I should even bother to try at this early stage.