I am now a Coker-er!

Just got my “Big One” in today! I wound up spending a few hours on it this afternoon, going 5-6 miles total. I’ve been riding a 24" for a few months, and I was able to ride without too many falls (I’ll wear the scar on my elbow with pride).

I spent around half an hour trying to figure out how to free mount. I managed to land on the pedals a couple of times, but I couldn’t get momentum going. I’m only 5’7, and even after cutting away most of the seat post, I still have to fully extend my legs to reach the pedals on the downswing. I got 150mm pedals, but I think I’m going to order 125 or 110 to try to cut down the distance a little bit (and build more speed).

Riding was a blast. After I got done, I went for a ride on my 24" uni again, and it felt like I was on a kiddie toy. I felt so slow! I’m completely addicted to the Coker already. I can’t wait for the weekend when I can really find a way to hurt myself on it!

M_

How did you decide on the coker versus nimbus, I also am vertically challenged at 5,7 is the nimbus too tall. Have you ever ridden a nimbus? The nimbus is more expensive. I am still trying to decide.

for info on the various 36ers check out this thread.

I would not worry too much about it being to tall for you, shortening a frame is not very hard to do. If you don’t feel comfortable doing it yourself a bike shop would probably do it for you.

Edit:mineralfellow, welcome to the club!

I’m about 5’7" and I currently have 170mm cranks on my Nimbus Nightrider, and I still have room to lower the seatpost. In fact I have ridden it with 170mm cranks and the T7 handlebar, so I don’t think your height should be much of an issue.

Hey, I’m a new Cokeur now, too!