How to mount going uphill

So I just started riding easy muni.

I can mount on flat or downhill. I don’t know how to mount going uphill. Is there a relatively easy way to do it?

No, mounting uphill is always hard. Things you can do to make it easier:

1. Try a rolling or jump mount, and jump way higher than you usually do.
  2. Mount sideways or downhill and hop around to get pointed the right direction.
  3. Find a place that’s flat or less uphill on the side of the trail.
  4. Stand on a rock so you don’t have to jump as high.
  5. Walk up the rest of the hill.

I’ve been intrigued to learn the back-jump mount (start with the unicycle in back of you and jump backwards onto it), because it should be easier in this situation, but I haven’t worked on it at all.

Thanks!

Jump mount, huh. I knew there was that sort of thing that better riders can do. I can only do static & roll-back mounts. And only on one side, although I can do curb-assisted static mounts on the other side.

On the street, I’ll do #2, mount riding across the hill, then turn uphill, but wasn’t able to do it on the moderately steep hill I UPD’d on in my first muni ride. I chose a much flatter course for today’s ride (my second muni ride), and it was a lot more fun, although I did exercise technique #5 once.

I rode in Briones Regional Park in the East SF Bay Area. Any of y’all ride there?

Great advice. I can’t hop but someone recently recommended in this forum (don’t remember who) to mount downhill then do a u turn. It is working for me so far … um unless I don’t have enough room to u turn… then I end up walking it. :wink:

I’ve ridden in Briones; there’s some steep hills in there all right. You should get on our mailing list if you live that close; the best legal MUni around here is in Joaquin Miller Park in Oakland, and we organize rides reasonably regularly. See http://berkeleyunicycling.org.