How to hop

I have been unicycling for about a month. I can static mount, do turns, and on occasion ride up a handicap ramp. I believe that the next skill I should be working on is either hopping or idling. My friends say that hopping is easier than idling. I’ve gotten one or two pathetic hops but they are way out of control.

Does anyone have any tips for how to hop?

Thanks

I just started with 1 hop, then 2 hops, then 10 hops, then 20 hops, then 10000000 hops :smiley:

Im not sure if theres an easier way to learn, but I just did it over and over again until it clicked :slight_smile:
It’s kinda weird though, because I started learning how to hop before I even knew it was a useful unicycling skill

Hopping is way easier than Idling.
Hold on to a wall and do a still stand, that is, stand up with the pedals level. While holding the wall for balance. Get used to this position. Now, pulling up on the handle on the front of the seat with one hand, jump. Just keep doing that till you can do it easy while holding the wall. Now do it without a wall.

Stand up straight with both legs tense so your knees WONT bend. Have one hand on the handle and also have that arm straight, so your whole body is straight and tense and nothing will bend.

Hop with your whole body keeping everything tense and tight, if one or both of your knees bend you’re likely to come off the front or back. The hops should be small and eventually you’ll be able to do them as long as you want on the spot, to help you balance when you cannot idle.

When you get good at this, you can start bending your knees (keep the pedals level still) and actually trying to get some height… and that’s useful for trials if you are going to do that.