how hard does it get?

i have been riding for a while now and i can do lots of stuff but the thing that is getting me very frustrated would be riding backwards? how do you do it?
thanks sean

Re: how hard does it get?

It’s a lot like riding forwards, just very awkward. Practice is the key. It’s very much like learning to ride all over again, and it will take at least as much time (from my experience at least). The “lean forward and pedal like hell” idea works in reverse when learning to ride backward.

It’s going to take time and the most important thing to remember to have fun while you are doing it. That’s what it’s all about.

Warning: I was learning to ride backward when I got my first dose of hard pedal to shin contact.

Daniel

Re: how hard does it get?

I’m just learning to ride backward, and can usually go three to seven
revolutions before falling. I have not been frustrated learning this
skill, but I put in a lot of time (and some frustration) learning to
idle before trying to go backwards. Someone here recommended the
super-idle (idling with an extra 1/2 revolution each direction) as a
good step towards backwards proficiency, and I’ve worked on that
enough to get bored, but not proficiennt. At this point going
backwards seems just as rewarding.

Oh yeah, there were a couple of people who had hard falls learning to
ride backward. I’ve been keeping my speed under control and haven’t
had any trouble.

Good luck!

Ken

I had a weird problem when I was learning to ride backward. Once I started backward, I COULD NOT STOP. Anyone else have this problem?

I finally learned to always practice riding backward toward a hill. Therefore the hill would slow me down and I could then go forward. Otherwise, I had to fall to stop any backward ride.

Sorry I don’t have any good recommendations for you. Just keep on practicing. It will come. --chirokid–

hey-