How far can I go self-taught?

I’ve been riding for 8 months (nothing very serious, when it’s nice out and such), and never formally been taught. Or even informally been taught. I can mount freely, ride straight, turn if I windmill, ride over pine cones and dirt, nothing too exciting, but I’m the best in the neighbourhood :smiley: . I’ve been planning on just keeping at it by myself, but everyonce and awhile somebody’ll say to me “are you thinking of joining/do you belong to -insert local circus training group here-?”

Anybody care to share how far they’ve gotten by themselves? Is there a limit to how good somebody can get if they’re self-taught?

You can go as far as you like. It’s my impression that most of the people round here are ‘self-taught’. Most of us are the only unicyclist in the village. Also, a lot of unicycling stuff is just practice, practice, practice and nobody can do that for you.

I have found it helpful in my uni’ing to see other people and what is possible but that can be accomplished as well via dvd/video as actually seeing people live.

Having said that, other people can help keep you motivated and point out mistakes you may be making, but it’s certainly not crucial.

Hope this helps.

Cathy

i did everything “self taught”

Frankly, I think there’s little in unicycling which doesn’t amount to teaching oneself. I’ve helped a number of people learn, and while I can give them some ideas and pointers, they very much have to teach themselves how.

I think groups can be good in that they can show you what is possible and motivate you to try things you wouldn’t otherwise (particularly in MUni and trials). But I don’t think it’s necessary. Kris Holm is self-taught.

i am mostly self taught… i was taught to ride and then i learned everything on my own… kinda… i watch some uni movies for some good tricks. that what i learn from.