How do you train/prepare for long ride

I am considering a ride in Sep. that is being held here in Savannah where I live. I am thinking about the 25 mile version because it is the shortest offered ride and I have never tried this before. so far my longest single ride has only been 8 miles. I don’t get to ride daily and am just now trying to make sure I get to ride at least once a week, usually after work and I cap it at 5 miles
I know this will have to change but I’m not sure of the best way to get ready to shoot for a 25 mile event. will I need to start riding daily and just keep riding farther and farther. it is tough as I work full time so I’m limited to riding time.
I would be doing this on a 29" and realistically am still at level 1 but I would say good top level 1 almost 2 :roll_eyes:
any suggestions are be welcome

It’s hard to say what you “need” to do. Maybe you will be completely fine at the level you are at. Maybe you’ll need to work hard to get to an appropriate level.

For long distance races (I gather you aren’t entering a race, but a ride for fun, but I think what I’ll describe still applies.), the conventional strategy is preparing with a mixture of shorter distance, high intensity rides, and going increasingly further with low intensity rides. The short rides are to raise your anaerobic threshold from a fitness standpoint, and from a “technique” standpoint, will get you more comfortable at high cadance. The long rides are to get your body to get used to riding for longer times, and to well…get your ass used to being on the seat for a long time. Also useful for figuring out a backpack, waterbottle, food etc. strategy.