How do you dismount?

I have tried the search function but since dismount is so commonly used I was not able to find an answer to the question - Which is safer/preferable controlled dismount, a front dismount or a back dismount.

I am still learning but when I feel that I am losing it, I step off the front (in a controlled manner) and grab the rear of the seat to save the unicycle from hitting the ground (BTW it is a 24" Muni).

Is it just a matter of personal preference or should I be concentraiting on a particular intended dismount?

Thanks

Simon

One of the 1st skill level tests requires that you dismount to the rear (uni in front of you) It makes some sense as you would then be able to start up again without having to reposition the uni.
That being said just keep doing what your comfortable with in order to avoid any nasty falls. I as well dismounted to the front when I started as it seemed easier.

I used to dismount over the front, but was informed that a rear dismount is safer. If you were to dismount over the front and your foot got caught in the pedal, it could be a pretty ugly fall.

You don’t have to drop the uni. Just hold onto the seat when you dismount.

It’s no big deal if it drops anyway . Better to let it drop than get tangled up in it. It’s only going to hit on the front bumper, rear bumper or pedal anyway.

–tom

dismounting to back has the advantage of being able to see when there uni is going to go.

I do trials so my dismount is usually a step off cause my uni is so low or a nice bail…

Me too.

I’m fairly new at riding a 36" and I too need advice on dismounting. It’s a lttle scary and I usually dismount forward hoping for the best. :thinking:

I’ll be watching this thread.
Dave

for the smaller wheels it is not a big deal but I would strongly suggest dismounting form the back with a 36er. It is a lot safer for you and your unicycle, especially if you don’t come to a complete stop first.