How do I stop stripping cranks?

I’ve been riding for a couple years (on a torker cx) but only got serious a few months ago when I started doing some low-key trials riding. After a couple weeks of hopping I noticed my left pedal was a little loose, and a few days later it fell off. The crank was completely stripped so I ordered new cranks (I believe they were the torker LX cranks from amazon) and had them installed at a local bike shop. Today (about a month and a half later) I noticed that the left pedal was again coming lose. I stopped riding immediately and brought it to a bike shop to prevent further damage but they told me it was too late and I had already stripped the crank again.

I’m going to keep riding until it actually falls off but how can I keep the cranks from stripping so fast (or at all) in the future? The people at the bike shop seemed to think there was nothing I could do about it but keep buying new cranks every few months. Reading through some other threads suggested that the cranks were on backwards (which sounds like a mistake I could have easily made myself) but I doubt the bike shop would have done so. Also the bikeshop I took it to today is different from the first one and they didn’t notice anything out of place.

Should I buy higher quality cranks? Tighten the pedals after each session before they get loose enough to strip the threads? Any input would be appreciated.

P.S. As you can probably tell I’m not very mechanical, but I’m working on it.

i would keep everything nice and tight…you got a spanner??

heeey nice post #1 and you don’t have the standard"confused newbie" thing under your name!!!

lol

you could get a better unicycle :slight_smile: , your pedals may be bad. I’m not sure on the strenth of those cranks.

he probably meansWITHOUT getting a different uni…

you should probably get an allan key set and a spanner…

getting a new uni solves all hahaha:D :roll_eyes: , but costs alot.

Do a better job yourself