How do I do this???????

I just purchased my first uni and am still trying to figure out the best way to learn to ride it. I’ve been starting along a short wall and can ride it 15-20 feet at times. I’ve been riding and racing mountain bikes for it seems a hundred years, and have gotten track stands down to a “t”. I thought I had pretty good balance 'til I threw a leg over this thing!!!
I’m wide open for suggestions, so please enlighten me, “Great One Wheel Gods” hehehe

Kenny -

I’m also new at this, and I asked the same question three weeks ago. For the answers you’re looking for, you may want to start by reading this thread:

http://www.unicyclist.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=22451

When you say you can ride about 15-20 feet, you mean while holding onto the low wall, correct? Because if you can travel 15-20 feet without holding onto something, you’re almost completely there! Seriously, the oft-repeated philosophy is “Once you can go 30 feet, you can go indefinitely.”

• Mark

Practice Practice Practice.

And when you practice:
Lean forward and pedal like hell.

Practice Practice Practice Practice Practice Practice Practice

Never give up, and remember that you started just for fun, don’t let lack of progress get you down. Just laugh at your self when you fall.

Daniel

Be confident, relaxed and committed. Always always fall off the front. If you fall off the back, you’re not committed. Keep your weight on the saddle, keep your back straight - pull your backside forwards (don’t hinge in the middle) and look ahead, not down. Count your pedal strokes and aim to beat your best score. Try to meet other unicyclists.

Most of all, enjoy it.

Re: How do I do this???

Ah, trackstands. I am a trackstand master also. I thought the same thing when I got my uni. I though I could just jump on it and go. It takes practice, but you’ll learn fast.

cheers… Mojoe