How about using DRIVING shoes for uni?

I’ve got duck-footed, clunky size 13 feet. Keeping my heels from hitting the fork is a fairly constant concern (I’m still a beginner, surely that concern will fade with time). Shoes with flared soles under the heel are especially prone to hitting the fork. I’ve tried on many pair of skateboard-type shoes and the styles are too wide for me. I’ve been using a pair of “recreational type” mountain biking shoes, the kind that have lugs and can clip in, but without the clips of course. These give me great clearance and comfort, but re-adjusting the position of my feet on the pedals is a pain because the lugs get stuck on the pedal pins.

I think I found a great solution. The driving shoes I use on my 'lil red racer (great for heel-toe shifting, another skill I’m trying to learn) seem PERFECT. They fit like a glove and are made to be as streamlined as possible. Has anyone tried these? Below is a link to one popular brand (I’m not shilling for them, there are many other great brands, just google “driving shoes”): http://www.piloti.com/default.aspx

I’m curious if anyone else has tried this route, and what your experience was like. Hope this is helpful to anyone else with feet that make a big “V”!

I did not know that they made shoes especially for driving. Those do look like decent riding shoes though.

Yes, I looked at them and they gave me a good laugh:)

Good racing boots have a very hard thin sole, to the extent that they are uncomfortable to walk around in for too long. Riding them on pinned pedals would likely be uncomfortable and the grip would be poor. They’re expensive and the outer fabric can wear fairly quickly. They are also not designed to be streamlined, your feet genreally go inside the car where there is little airflow. Their fireproof nature might be useful for fire hockey.