Hovering newbie - first post

I have been sitting non-actively on this group for about 4 months
while waiting for mu Uni to arrive and then learning to ride it. I
live in Nottingham, and it took me about 4 weeks until I could
freemount (not every go of course), and ride decent enough distances
before UPDs. I learnt on grass, not the most level either - but I
think that helped and the landings were softer.

I can now, after 3 and a half months, freemount about 90% of time and
I am just getting the hang of idling - record is 30 pendulum swings
(stopped only because dominant leg got too tired). Idling is
something that took weeks before I got it - went through the stage of
thinking I will never improve then miraculously I did !

I had many falls in first 2 weeks of learning, scraped shins, bruised
calfs, UPDs a plenty, but now I cant remember last time I fell off -
guess I got to learn when to jump off!

I am also a juggler - just a bit and have tried 3 balls while riding
for brief distances - mainly just to see if I could - and I couldn’t
really, although I did about 5 throws.

I am 36 and wish I bought one years ago, have always been interested,
but finally got to have a go at a juggling / circus skills course
which gave me the bug. I am well impressed with all this Muni stuff
and trials, and have downloaded some of the videos on the internet -
crazy + brave people out there.

Aim to skill myself before next Unicycle convention in England, I am
definitely going to attend, don’t know when/where next one is.

Hooked enough to consider buying a better quality 24" Uni.

I love my Uni!

Tony - Nottingham, England.

Re: Hovering newbie - first post

good of u to pop in, welcome!

a situation that will be remedied by more practise and esp. focusing on placing (and keeping) your weight on the seat
the down-leg should only have to exert enough force to move the uni to-and-fro, not carry your body weight as well

welcome to the wonderfull world of the non-linear learning curve