hopping tips

ive got a question about the horizontal distance from the object you are hopping on.

i have no problems on smaller objects (2 feet (61cm) and under) but i am unsure of the distance i should hop from to higher objects (62-75cm). i land the hops more often if i am closer to the obstacle but the landing is smoother when i am farther. By close I mean a little more than 1 foot (31 cm) and by far I mean 2 feet (61cm). This is, of course, without a prehop. thanks.

Im pretty new to hopping. i can only hop about 5" on my 24" sun. How can I increase my height?

just keep practicing and very slowly increase height. find a wall or curb that gradually changes in height. after you can land a certain height 5 times in a row, try a hop an inch higher…

I Find doing longjumps increases my high jump hieght. I dont do much trials riding now adays though.

Trev

How is hopping on a standard freestyle uni (Semcycle dx 20")? I now know I should have got a trials uni, but oh well. I don’t get the feeling this thing was built to withstand big impacts.

I can only hop about 3" or so, but I’m working on it.

I wouldnt recomend really hopping on a Freestyle. The cranks end up twisting and thiers always a chance of putting kinks in the rim, But if you are going to do jumps on a Freestyle buy a fatish tyre for it.

Trev

ok fine. but here is another question about hopping.

I had never tried rolling hops before, which is strange considering how much trials i ride, but yesterday i decided to try it. after about 30 minutes i started to peak at 24" (61cm). i was expecting to be able to get much higher. how can i increase my height? is there anything special about the takeoff, or is it all about pushing the wheel forward? thanks ahead of time.

:slight_smile: