Hi from Philippines!

Hi, I’m Nelvin from Philippines.

I just bought a Nimbus II 20" unicycle from Japan and I just started learning it a few days ago. I got interested in unicycle when I had to choose between a bike (bulky and can’t get in bus) and a kick scooter (portable but small wheels) for going to work. I’m happy I found this forum to learn from.

Unicycle is not yet popular in my country. It is hard for me to find someone whom I can practice it with. I am currently stuck in learning to balance after hoping on to the uni. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you and have a good day.

Welcome to the forum, Nelvin. There are many discussions on the forum giving advice to beginners. Here are a few suggestions:

• Wear safety gear. You will avoid injury. You will be less afraid of falling.
  • Buy all the tools you need to check the tightness of your unicycle. Hex wrench (metric) set and pedal wrench.
  • Find a block of time in your daily schedule to practice. 5 minutes here and there is not a good way to succeed.
  • Measure your progress in tiny steps, and celebrate your tiny successes.
  • Accept the fact that you will look like an idiot in front of your neighbors during the awkward beginner stages.

Good luck! Keep practicing!

Hi Nelvin! That’s good advice from elpuebloUNIdo. I agree with all of what he said.

As far as finding someone to practice with: Although I live in the US, there are very few unicyclists in the part of the country where I live so I had to learn by myself just like you. My unicycling friends while I was learning were my friends here on this forum. Keep checking back and letting us know how your practice is going. I sometimes found myself thinking about what my next forum report would be even while I was practicing, and sometimes that encouraged me to try just it a few more times or to try something I hadn’t thought of doing before.