Help needed!

Can you help me? I have been trying to uni for about 2 years- but still cant ride more than about 20 meters, and that’s not in the direction I want.

Thing is, I have been cycling for about 25 years, and I am struggling with the whole weight on the seat thing. When I uni, the seat slides around in under me, and therefore my weight is firmly on my pedals, which makes it squirm more, which means my weight… you know the story.

I have tried seat high, seat low, holding on to the front of the seat (which kills my balance).

Any ideas? The South West UL meet is in a couple weeks, and I want to have it nailed by then.

So how can I get my seat to stay still between my legs? (Note- I would wiggle if I had to go in between my legs!)

Simon

Howdy,
I am a cycler myself and havent had any probs learning…
Only advice i can give is start between 2 chairs, mount, and just try and ride!
If you understand that the weight must be on the seat and you must lean forward and pedal to keep up with your upper half you should have it in a few weeks!
You will find you will fall lots at first but it will gradually come.
I wish i understood this principal whilst first learning.
Good luck:)

What unicycle are you using? Some of the really old seats are a complete pain. Set the seat height so that your knee nearly locks straight at the bottom of the stroke, as you would for a bike. When you sit on the unicycle keep your back straight and look a good distance ahead. This will make it easier to sit your weight on the saddle. Try mounting the uni while holding on to something and while stationary focus on your weight on the saddle, let your legs relax, picture yourself sitting on a bench with your feet just resting on the floor, rather than standing up. I’m sorry this is all a bit vague but I hope it helps.