Help for a short fattie

Hi guys a I am new to unicycling I have a cheap 20" bought from eBay. It has an 80kg limit and with cloths and gear on I’ll be close to that. I find my seat pvits slightly and my tire isn’t to happy with all that weight on it. Any suggestions for a more stable and weight friendly unit. Was thinking a 24inch might spread the load a bit better and a better brand might have a better seat clamp? Any suggestions?

80kg isn’t big at all. : )

Usually those ebay cycles are pretty cheap. They will get you by for learning though. You may need to figure out a way to get the clamp tighter. I would guess they’re using a 22.2 seatpost, and you may be able to find a better seatpost clamp, but if you can manage it for now, money is best saved for something a little more substantial. A little trick is to scuff up the seatpost a little where the clamp is to give it a bit more friction to avoid slipping. If you already have a knurled seatpost though, that’s about the best you can do without upgrading the clamp itself.

Choosing a new wheel very much depends on your budget. unicycle.com is a good place to start, and they really don’t sell anything that wouldn’t support that weight for normal riding. The club line is great as a beginner wheel, and if you go up to the nimbus II, you get a very beefy unicycle that will last many years of abuse.

There are lots of options, so I would start there and see what you find in your price range.

As far as the size goes, if you’re still new, a 20 or 24 both work great. A 20" will be slower and put you a little closer to the ground, which some people like for learning. A 24" is good for cruising around, but isn’t as versatile for more difficult tricks if you choose to really get into the sport. Really either should be fine.

You may also want to check out the trading post here and put up a wanted ad if you can’t find something on unicycle.com. : ) welcome to the forums!

Hi Cmicenko,

Welcome on the international forum!