Hello - first post. Weight on seat or pedals?

Hello. First post: hope its in the right place!

I am just learning.

Where I am at:

I can mount and sit on my machine while holding the wall, and ride along the wall holding on lightly, and for short periods even letting go with my hand just above the wall.

Question:
Reading these pages, I have noticed several posters giving the advice to keep the weight on the seat. I have found it easier to keep most of my weight on my feet, with only enough on the seat for steerage and stability. Am I developing a bad habit here: one that will limit my progress?

Peter

Generally when people are learning they tend to put most of their weight on the pedals. It is totally fine to do this while learning, you’ll just want to learn to put your weight on the seat once you are ready to ride longer distances. The reason it is better to have your weight on the seat is so that you don’t tire out your legs. Just keep practicing and have fun!

Thanks. That’s reassuring.

Yes, you are developing a bad habit. As a person learns to ride, they finally get to the point where they consistently travel five pedal revolutions or more. This is the point at which the rider learns to stay up by making corrections as they begin to fall. Instinctively, one stands on the pedals to frantically apply force to make a rapid correction to keep from falling. Beginners remain tense after that first correction and forget to put their weight entirely back in the saddle. This is why we tell them to chant to themselves perpetually, “weight in the seat.”

Having all of your weight in the saddle is much more stable than having your weight on the pedals. If it was easier to have your weight on the pedals, people would first learn how to ride an ultimate wheel, then seat out, then a unicycle with seat in. Anyone who rides knows that the reverse order is the one that makes sense and that an ultimate wheel is ridiculously difficult compared to a unicycle.