Heavy Cruisers?

Heavy Cruisers?

I assume that a heavy tire and rim on similarly configured unicycles will be easier to ride. I assume this because the center of gravity of the rider/unicycle pair will be lower than with a lightweight wheel. A lower center of gravity will create a longer fulcrum above that center of gravity. The rider having a longer fulcrum against the center of gravity will have a more forceful control of the unicycle.

I make this assumption because I have very little experience riding different kinds of unicycles.

Please respond to my assumption. Am I right or wrong from your experience? If you had two unicycles exactly the same except for the weight of the tire and rim, would the heavier one be easier to ride?

If so

Is there a significant improvement in the subjective feel of “easier to ride”, or is wheel weight insignificant from your experience?

Muni configured unicycles are easier to ride generally if you disregard wheel friction. Yes?

Re: Heavy Cruisers?

In article <Zook.kvn1b@timelimit.unicyclist.com>,
Zook <Zook.kvn1b@timelimit.unicyclist.com> wrote:
)
)Heavy Cruisers?
)
)I assume that a heavy tire and rim on similarly configured unicycles
)will be easier to ride. I assume this because the center of gravity of
)the rider/unicycle pair will be lower than with a lightweight wheel. A
)lower center of gravity will create a longer fulcrum above that center
)of gravity. The rider having a longer fulcrum against the center of
)gravity will have a more forceful control of the unicycle.
)
)Please respond to my assumption. Am I right or wrong from your
)experience? If you had two unicycles exactly the same except for the
)weight of the tire and rim, would the heavier one be easier to ride?

I think the lighter uni will be easier to control. “Control” assuming
that you want it to do something other than continue going the direction
it’s going at the speed it’s moving. Every time you want to change anything,
the heavier wheel will fight you.