Groin (sorry, seat) grabbing

Hi,
Please forgive my ignorance but I’m just a beginner (not even level 1 yet). I was recently reading a thread about seat/groin grabbing and realise this must be a vital part of unicyling. Please could you tell why you do it?
Thanks,
cathy

because, it feels really good.
no, wait, that’s not why. not usually anyway. we actually don’t grab our crotch, you hold the front of the unicycle seat, which sometimes actually has a handle meant for holding like the Kris Holm and Miyata seats. this way you can hold the unicycle and pull up on it as you hop. try hopping without holding the seat, while it’s doable, it’s rather difficult.

I learned with no ‘handle’, and rode for 35 years without holding the seat. I find it ‘awkward’ to hold the seat when riding with my new DX.
(I do not hop yet)

What I do like to do (if no need for using arms for balancing) is to place my hands on thighs. (and slightly push, to ease petaling when going long distances)

Now that I have a handle (new torker). I try using the handle for a ‘hand rest’, but find it throws my center off, and takes more to recover because hand/arm has to move farther to recover balance.

Just my 2c.

I hold my seat when standing up going up or down hill on a difficult bit of MUni or something, as well as for hopping, etc. I learned on a seat without a handle, so at first it did throw off my balance. However, I learned fast. On distance rides, I put some of my weight on my hands pushing down on the saddle, in order to take weight off of my crotch.

I would say you don’t have to learn it until you start doing it naturally in order to be able to do something.

thanx,
I guess I can only dream of the days when I may be able to hop and ride long distances, and freemount and, um, actually ride the uni.
Cathy

nah, you’ll learn pretty fast. How long have you been learning/riding?