getting Ultra High Molecular Weight (UHMW) polyethylene?

Ok, I am now an architecture student with some industrial design and model making training. A while back there was some talk about new Miyata handles being built out of “Ultra High Molecular Weight (UHMW) polyethylene” now available through unicycle.com. I have been drawing plans for a new trials specific air saddle and am looking to go into production of a working prototype. To be short about it, I am looking for the e-mail address of the person/any person who is familiar with such materials as this UHMW polyethylene or any possible better materials I may use to build this prototype. Beyond such contact information I feel it is best to keep this thread private.

It is quite any easy thing to google and there a re lots of suppliers.

Without knowing what your application is it is hard to say if this is the best material.

• It is easy to machine. Good for low volume production
  • Good abrasion resistance
  • Low UV resistance. Not ideal for outdoor applications

You might want to look at Nylon too. It is used in similar applications to polyethelene. There is a vast range depending on what qualities you want.

Not wishing to dampen your spirits but I doubt you will ever get rich out of unicycle products so you might not need all the cloak and dagger. Keeping any unique features out of the public domain will allow you patent tham but I doubt this would be cost effective.

Good Luck

The google search has been done. Hotbot actualy, to set in my ways to try these new fangaled things like google. The results were 100% science labs and reasurch facilitys displaying unltra technical specs and whatnot on the material. I know of a supplyer of commercial plastics in the boston area, I will make a call to them soon and see if they carry the stuff or could get it, but I wanted to reasurch it first.