Getting my first uni

I’m 16 and getting my first unicycle next week. Its quite difficult to get one in my country, especially with the Covid situation. I’m getting a QU-AX Only One 24’’ unicycle, if that means anything to you. Just wondering if there’s anything i should be looking for specifically when purchasing it as i am by no means a skilled mechanic and in fact don’t even know how to ride a bike. (190cm/6’2’’)

4 Likes

Hello Marko. It’s always good to see another person taking up unicycling.

QU-AX is a reputable brand. That should be a decent unicycle. You’re fairly tall, so you may benefit from a longer seat post if that’s an option. You want the seat at a height where your knee is only slightly bent when the pedal is at the bottom.

When you put it together, make sure the left crank arm is attached to the left side and the right crank is attached to the right. The cranks and pedals will be labelled. If you get them backwards, you could end up with the pedals loosening and falling off when you ride. Besides that, there’s not much to worry about with unicycles. They’re pretty maintenance free.

2 Likes

Good luck! I guess, if you have even gotten onto a stationary bike and pedalled that, it’s the same leg motion… but you’ll move along the ground!!
No more real advice except that I learned by going along a fence, and wrist guards are a good idea, and make sure your shoe laces are short :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I think learning to unicycle is mostly a matter of persistence. If you get out and practice every day you should be riding within a month. Periodically check the various bolts on your unicycle. Just make sure they’re tight and check your tire pressure. That’s about it for maintenance. They’re very simple machines.

3 Likes

It’s a nice hobby! I started 6 months ago myself and have been riding every day since :wink:

When assembling the uni, just make sure you don’t tighten the bearing caps too much.