Getting children on a Uni

I love this forum, it’s been no end of help. I’ve been uni-ing for only 2 months but i’m already looking at getting a Muni. The only hitch is that I want to get my 6-year-old daughter into it too, so we can ride together. Maybe too optimistic perhaps? She’s a bit of a tom-boy and claims to like the idea of doing it.

What success (and failures) have you had? What bribes/incentives/threats were used?

Any special suggestions on teaching technique? Equipment ?(I have assumed that a 16" with a cut down post would be OK)

I really want her to try, but I know that the first few hours could totally put her off. And I know that she’s stubborn so once she decides she’ll do it, she will. and vice versa of course.

Thanks very much,

Mike Penton

I don’t have kids i am only 16 but this is my take on it…
To me it would seem much harder to get a teenager into unicycling as it’s not “cool” where as an under 10 is not as bothered well i was not anyway.
I can also see it being harder to get an under 10 to actually learn but by the sound of your daughter she would really like to try! Also with a unicycling father she can see what can be done on a unicycle and have a teacher.I never had that i started the same time as some people down the road i got far better then them and still am for example i can coast and glide ect ect the struggle to ride backwards(sounds big headed but i am not) until i met phil i had no one to show me how to do stuff. So good luck to you hope this helps in some small way…
Ben

Some teenagers think its very cool.
I’m 15, i have two friends who are 14 and ride. I got another friend who is 15 and can ride but doesn’t own his unicycle.

I agree that most teenagers first reaction to unicycling is that its not cool. When they find out a bit more about it (ie watch universe 2, or watch us do tricks) many thinks its cool as such. Then there are the idiots who will diss you no matter what…