Gear for 36er rides (clothing and protective)

I did a few searches and didn’t really find much, so…

I got a coker last week and with my finals this semester being done in just a few weeks, I’ll have a lot of time to work on my distance riding. I’ve ridden a 20" for the past 3 years however, and am a total noob to the world of any sort of distance over 5 miles. I have a few questions about gear.

Firstly, keep in mind I live in TX…and it gets freaking hot here. As far as water is concerned, I own a Camelbak Mule, so that’s not too much of an issue.

Now, for my torso. Should I invest in one of this moisture-wicking, form-fitting road cycling shirts? (I don’t know the proper term for them) All of my wardrobe right now is just cotton shirts, which I know are highly impractical for distance cycling in the heat. Any specific brands you guys recommend for this?

What about protective gear? I’ve already experimented a bit with going fast on the coker, just on a very very slight downhill, and I foresee at least a few bad falls in my future. I was thinking a good pair of wrist-guards would be a worthy investment. Your opinions there?

Oh, and a helmet. Your favorites for comfort, especially in the face of intense heat? The one I have now is a really uncomfortable cheap piece of crap that makes my head look like a mushroom, so I’d prefer something sleek, breathable, and relatively cool-looking. :sunglasses:

As far as shoes, I think my flat-soled converse will be fine, I’ve never had a problem with traction before, and it doesn’t rain much in Texas summers.

Ok next…my shorts. I have a pair of cheap bike shorts with a thin layer of padding, but I’ll probably replace them soon. Any recommendations there?

Also, do most of you guys wear anything over the shorts/cycling shirt? (remember, it’s hot here :p)

So yeah that’s a lot of questioning on my part, but I’ve never cycled, uni- or bi-, any distance before, and it looks really fun! I just want to make sure I’m prepared!